Beaver Dam Unified School District Board of Education Proceedings

March 11, 2024

The regular meeting of the Beaver Dam Unified School District Board of Education was held on the above date at the Educational Service Center. President, Chad Prieve, called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. Board members present: Isaac Dornfeld, Marge Jorgensen, John Kraus, Jr., Mary Kuntz, Maria Mason, Lisa Panzer, Chad Prieve, and Joanne Tyjeski. Board members absent: Gary Spielman.

Mr. Prieve led in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Jorgensen moved, Kuntz seconded, to approve the minutes from the regular meeting on February 11, 2024, and the special meeting on February 22, 2024, as presented.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Mr. Prieve welcomed visitors.

Kraus moved, Tyjeski seconded, to adopt the agenda as presented.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Middle School Administration and Staff reported on the objectives of their School Success Plan along with progress on the action steps. They included information on their Student of the Month program, Social Emotional Learning, in addition to learning and community activities.

Representatives from the Beaver Dam Area Community Foundation presented an update on the Foundation's Education Fund, including a list of the classroom and school projects that were funded through grants from the Education Fund. They provided a demonstration of the virtual reality goggles that were funded through a grant request from the Middle School.

Mr. Tronsen presented the Start College Now Program requests for the first semester of the 2024-2025 school year.

Jorgensen moved, Mason seconded, to approve the Start College Now Program requests for Fall 2024 as presented.

The motion was adopted by the following vote: Aye – Jorgensen, Kraus, Kuntz, Mason, Panzer, Prieve, Tyjeski, and Dornfeld. Nay-None.

Mr. Cashman, Director of Business Services, presented a donation to Jefferson Elementary School in the amount of \$1,000 from Beaver Dam BP, LLC dba as Beaver Dam Mobil to used at the discretion of the school.

Tyjeski moved, Kraus seconded, to accept the donation as presented.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Ms. Espinoza, High School Student Representative, reported on High School and Middle School events and activities for the month of March and previewed some for April.

Ms. Jorgensen, Operations Committee Chair, reported the committee met on February 26 and received a calendar proposal for the 2025-2026 school year, an update on the 2023-2024 budget, and reviewed a draft of the community survey for district facility needs. The next committee meeting is scheduled for April 22.

Jorgensen moved, Kraus seconded, to adopt the 2025-2026 school year calendar as presented.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Ms. Panzer, Teaching and Learning Committee Chair, reported the committee met on February 26 and received a calendar proposal for the 2025-2026 school year, a mid-year update on the progress of each school's success plans, and a report on the mid-year Achievement Gap Reduction data. The next committee meeting is scheduled for April 22.

Board members shared the engagement opportunities they participated in.

Board members recognized FFA members who volunteered at Second Harvest Food Pantry.

Ms. Jorgensen read a proclamation declaring March 2024 as Fine Arts Month.

Kraus moved, Dornfeld seconded, to affirm the Fine Arts Month proclamation as read.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Kraus moved, Jorgensen seconded, the board recess into closed session pursuant to Wis. Stat. §19.85 (1)(c) considering employment, promotion, compensation or performance evaluation data of any public employee over which the governmental body has jurisdiction or exercises responsibility, specifically to discuss specific employees.

The motion was adopted by the following vote: Aye – Kraus, Kuntz, Mason, Panzer, Prieve, Tyjeski, Dornfeld, and Jorgensen. Nay-None.

During closed session, there was discussion regarding specific employees.

Kuntz moved, Jorgensen seconded, to reconvene into open session.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Panzer moved, Jorgensen seconded, to approve the following retirement/resignation: Teresa Ploch-Music Teacher-Prairie View Elementary School (Retirement effective end of the 2023-24 school year) and Kathi Wiedenhoeft-Advanced Learning Coordinator-District (Resignation effective end of the 2023-24 school year).

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Panzer moved, Jorgensen seconded, to approve the following leave of absence request: Laura Kulka-Grade 2 Teacher-Wilson Elementary School (Medical Leave dates TBD).

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Panzer moved, Jorgensen seconded, to approve the following appointment: Bobbi Jo Helgemoe-Chemistry Teacher-High School (LTS 2/20/24-3/4/24).

The motion was adopted by the following vote: Aye – Kuntz, Mason, Panzer, Prieve, Tyjeski, Dornfeld, Jorgensen, and Kraus. Nay-None.

Tyjeski moved, Kuntz seconded, to appoint Lisa Panzer, Mark DiStefano, and Michelle Falkinham to serve as the board of canvassers for the April school board election with Caitlyn Ostrander as the alternate.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Mr. DiStefano presented the board policy updates from Neola for first reading.

Tyjeski moved, Jorgensen seconded, to approve the payment of financial claims (Voucher #553, #554, #555, #556 and #557) for District Credit Card, ACH File, Net Payroll, Payroll Taxes, WEA Trust Advantage, American Funds, Ameriprise, AXA, AXA Roth, Fidelity, Franklin, Health Savings Account, Met Life, Sec Benefit Life, Thrivent, WEA TSA, Payroll Related Voucher, Manual Check, Wisconsin Retirement System, and District Insurance for a total of \$5,138,906.89. (A listing of these vouchers can be found in the Accounts Payable Check Register.)

The motion was adopted by the following vote: Aye – Mason, Panzer, Prieve, Tyjeski, Dornfeld, Jorgensen, Kraus, and Kuntz. Nay-None.

Kuntz moved, Jorgensen seconded, to adjourn the meeting.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote and the meeting was adjourned at 8:30 p.m.

/s/	
Chad Prieve, President	
/a/	
<u>/s/</u>	
Marge Jorgensen, Clerk	